Hollandaise Sauce Might have been made from battery eggs.
For an alternative: Hollandaise sauce is so easy to make why not make your own with free range eggs?
Ice Cream - Look out for the non dairy fats, E numbers, eggs and whey. There are vegan ice creams available - Swedish Glace is the most well known.
Jelly - Usually contains gelatin.
For an alternative: try using vegegel or agar agar.
Lard Is from animal fat and is sometimes used in pastries.
For an alternative: use butter or vegetable based margarines.
Marshmallows Contain gelatin.
Margarines - Could contain animal fats, vitamin D3,
E numbers, whey, gelatin. Vitamin A (Retinol) can be via fish oil or
non free-range egg yolk and Omega 3 from fish oils.
For an alternative: try vegetable margarines like Tomor for pastry
Mayonnaise Could contain non-free range eggs. Vegan mayo is also available from health food suppliers.
Milk Can contain added omega 3 from fish. Most milk producers however do not add this to their produce. Some vegetarians also prefer to drink only organic milk for ethical reasons.
Noodles Could contain battery egg.
Pasta - Fresh pasta is often made using battery eggs. Nero pasta is died with squid ink and is not acceptable to vegetarians.
For an alternative: dried pasta is usually suitable because no egg is used meaning it can be cooking in advance and reheated when required.
Pastry - May contain animal fat.
For an alternative: try using Jusrol ready made pastry or make your own.
Pesto Could contain animal rennet cheese (i.e. parmasano).
For an alternative: Meridian, Suma and Zest all make vegetarian pesto or try your own recipe.
Pizza Look out for non-vegetarian cheese and bread base.
Sauces May contain fish oils, colours, shrimp and crustacea.
Soft Drinks - Some canned orange drinks use gelatin as a carrier for added beta carotene.
Soup - May contain meat/fish stocks.
For an alternative: try using Marigold Vegetable Boullion or make your own stocks from surplus veg.
Stock - Cubes, powder and prepared products may contain animal fat. See above for alternatives.
Suet - Usually made from animal fat.
For an alternative: Atora is the most widely available non-animal suet available.
Sweets - Look out for gelatin and E120 (cochineal) in boiled sweets and mints.
For an alternative: you can use artifical cochineal to colour your own boiled sweets.
Vinegars Wine vinegars can be fined using isinglass and cider vinegars with isinglass or gelatin.
Wine - May have been fined using isinglass, dried blood, egg albumen, gelatin and chitin. Most port, except crusted port, is fined with gelatin.
For an alternative: Vegsoc Approved website features many suitable wine merchants. Vinceremos and Vintage Roots can supply organic wines.
Worcestershire Sauce - Most major brands such as Lea & Perrins contain anchovies (fish).
For an alternative: Try Henderson's Relish or Biona Worcester Sauce.
Yoghurts - Including yoghurt type desserts, which may contain gelatin, others may contain E120.
[ BACK ]